ICA Medals

Kirkman medal
Euler Medals recognize distinguished lifetime career contributions to combinatorial research by Fellows of the ICA, including those who remain active in research. Normally, at most one medal per year is awarded.

Hall Medals recognize extensive quality research with substantial international impact by Fellows of the ICA in mid-career. Recipients must have earned their doctoral degree in year \(x-18\) or later, where \(x\) is the year of nomination. At most two medals per year are awarded.

Kirkman Medals recognize excellent research by Fellows or Associate Fellows of the ICA early in their research career, as evidenced by an excellent body of published research. Recipients must have earned their doctoral degree in year \(x-3\) or later, where \(x\) is the year of the nomination. At most two medals per year are awarded.

Stanton Medals honour significant lifetime contributions to promoting the discipline of combinatorics through advocacy, outreach, service, teaching and/or mentoring. Letters of nomination should establish the significance, duration, and impact of the nominee's contributions other than research. At most one medal per year is to be awarded, typically to a Fellow of the ICA.

Nominations that are not recommended will be considered again in each of the two years following the submission of the nomination, provided that the eligibility criteria are still satisfied.

Each nomination for a medal is to be made by two or more Fellows of the ICA. No ICA medal can be awarded to a current member of the ICA Council; and no Kirkman, Hall, or Euler Medal can be awarded to an Honorary Fellow. Further, nominees for an Euler, Hall, or Kirkman medal must be ICA members in the year for which they are nominated. A nomination must include a complete curriculum vitae and a letter detailing the extent and importance of the nominees contributions, addressing the selection criteria. Nomination letters should be suitable for inclusion, in whole or in part, in a citation that may appear in the Bulletin of the ICA.

The ICA Medals Committee (Jonathan Jedwab (chair), Gennian Ge, and Mateja Šajna) reviews nominations. Judgment is applied in assessing whether the criteria are met in spirit if not in letter, particularly when documented career interruptions affect eligibility. The committee makes recommendations to the ICA President and Council, with whom the final decisions rest. The ICA President announces the medal recipients.

Nominations for 2019 medals will be due at the end of this year. Please send nominations to Jonathan Jedwab (jed@sfu.ca). Address questions to Jonathan Jedwab or to the ICA President, Doug Stinson.

List of Stanton Medal Winners

Year Winners
2018 no medal awarded
2017 Robin Wilson
2016 Ronald Mullin

List of Euler Medal Winners

Year Winners
2018 Dieter Jungnickel
2017 Fan Chung
2016 James Hirschfeld
2015 no medals awarded
2014 Brian Alspach
2013 Curt Lindner
2012 Alex Rosa
2011 Cheryl Praeger
2010 Bojan Mohar
2009 no medals awarded
2008 Gabor Korchmaros
2007 Stephen Milne
2007 Heiko Harborth
2006 Clement W. H. Lam
2006 Nick Wormald
2005 Ralph Faudree
2005 Aviezri Fraenkel
2004 Doron Zeilberger
2004 Zhu Lie
2003 Peter Cameron
2003 Charles Colbourn
2002 Herbert Wilf
2001 Spyros Magliveras
2000 Richard A. Brualdi
2000 Horst Sachs
1999 D. K. Ray-Chaudhuri
1998 Peter Ladislaw Hammer
1998 Anthony Hilton
1997 no medals awarded
1996 J.H. van Lint
1995 Hanfried Lenz
1994 Joseph A. Thas
1993 Claude Berge
1993 Ronald Graham

List of Hall Medal Winners

Year Winners
2018 Kai-Uwe Schmidt
2017 John Bamberg
2017 Daniel Horsley
2016 no medals awarded
2015 Lijun Ji
2014 Peter Dukes
2013 Bart De Bruyn
2012 Michael Giudici
2011 Olga Polverino
2010 Catherine Greenhill
2009 no medals awarded
2008 Ian Wanless
2007 David Pike
2006 Darryn Bryant
2006 Gennian Ge
2006 Heather Jordon
2005 Jonathan Jedwab
2004 Dirk Hachenberger
2004 Masaaki Harada
2003 Antonio Cossidente
2002 Saad El-Zanati
2001 Alfred Menezes
2001 Alexander Pott
2000 Michael Henning
2000 Klaus Metsch
1999 Hendrik Van Maldeghem
1999 Rolf Rees
1998 Marco Buratti
1998 Arrigo Bonisoli
1997 Reinhard Diestel
1996 Christos Koukouvinos
1996 Christine O'Keefe
1996 Tim Penttila
1995 Donald Kreher
1994 Ortrud Oellermann
1994 Chris Rodger
1994 Doug Stinson

List of Kirkman Medal Winners

Year Winners
2018 Alexander Bors
2018 Shuxing Li
2017 Binzhou Xia
2017 Hengjia Wei
2016 Yue Zhou
2015 Padraig Ó Catháin
2014 Daniele Bartoli
2013 Tommaso Traetta
2012 Rebecca Stones
2012 Xiande Zhang
2011 Tao Feng
2010 Daniel Horsley
2010 Kai-Uwe Schmidt
2009 no medals awarded
2008 Nick Cavenagh
2008 Futaba Okamoto
2007 Petteri Kaski
2007 Peter Dukes
2006 John Bamberg
2006 Giuseppe Marinos
2006 Koen Thas
2005 Michael Giudici
2005 Matt Walsh
2004 Andreas Enge
2004 Jon-Lark Kim
2003 Ken-ichi Kawarabayashi
2003 Mateja Sajna
2003 Sanming Zhou
2002 Ian Wanless
2001 Matthew Brown
2001 Alan Ling
2001 Ying Miao
2000 Michael Raines
1999 Nicholas Hamilton
1999 Qing Xiang
1998 Peter Adams
1998 Cai Heng Li
1997 Makoto Matsumoto
1997 Bernhard Schmidt
1996 Gregory Gutin
1996 Patric R. J. Ostergard
1995 Darryn Bryant
1994 Robert Craigen
1994 Jonathan Jedwab